Council of Burgmann College


The Council of Burgmann College was incorporated in August 1966.

Burgmann Council consists of the following members:

  • Twelve Councillors chosen from among the participating churches;
  • Two Councillors appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of the University;
  • The Principal of the College (ex officio);
  • The Deputy Principal of the College (ex officio);
  • Three Councillors elected from the academic staff of the College by the academic and executive staff of the College, each of whom must be a resident member of the College;
  • Four Councillors chosen by and from Convocation, at least two of whom must be former residents of the College;
  • The President of the Burgmann Residents Association (ex officio);
  • Five Councillors (not being members of the academic and executive staff of the College), elected, in a manner approved by Burgmann Council, by the resident members of the College (including the academic and executive staff of the College) from among their number, provided that at least one of these Councillors shall be resident in the postgraduate facilities and at least one of these Councillors shall be resident elsewhere in the College;
  • Five additional persons elected by Burgmann Council.

The Burgmann Council meets twice a year in March (annual general meeting) and September (annual electoral meeting).

Council Membership

Anglican Church of Australia         Mr Greg Mills (Chairman)
Anglican Church of Australia         VACANT
Anglican Church of Australia         Mr Bruce Glendinning
Uniting Church in Australia            Prof Campbell Macknight
Uniting Church in Australia            Dr Bradley Opdyke
Uniting Church in Australia            Mr Robert Tulip
Baptist Union                                 Mr James Carter
Baptist Union                                  (Vacant)
Churches of Christ                         Dr Les Davies
Churches of Christ                         Rev Ken Perrin
Australian National University        Dr Rebecca Tan
Australian National University        Associate Professor Wayne Morgan
Ex officio                                         Ms Sally Renouf (Principal)
Ex officio                                         Mr Alex McKenzie (Deputy Principal)
Ex officio                                         BRA President Mr Oliver Byrne
Academic Reps                               Resident (Undergrad)Mr Kirby Wraith
Academic Reps                               Resident (Undergrad) Miss Charlotte Young
Academic Reps                               Resident (Undergrad) Mr Henry Wise
Convocation                                    Mr Matthew Lobb (Secretary) (Alumni Association President)
Convocation                                    Ms Robyn Byrne OAM
Convocation                                    Mr Robin Brown
Convocation                                    VACANT
Elected by Council                          Ms Betty Ferguson (Treasurer)
Elected by Council                          Dr James Popple
Elected by Council                          Ms Susanna Price
Elected by Council                          Ms Jo Schumann
Elected by Council                          Mr Christopher Naughton
Resident (Undergrad)                     Miss Lara Hather                  
Resident (Undergrad)                     Miss Angelina Inthavong                  
Resident (Postgrad)                        Ms Rita Agha                  
Resident (Undergrad)                     Miss Fenna Kroon                  
Resident (Undergrad)                     Charlie Crawford